Get social with us!
  • Jun

    23

    to
    Jul

    21

    › ISME Community Music Pre-Conference Seminar 2020

    Location: Online - Open in Google Maps -

    The CMA commission is excited to offer an OPEN ACCESS online conference to the wider community music network. There will be five digital Assemblies over the following dates in June and July.
     
    Tuesday, June 23 
    UK 7pm / Chicago 1pm / Melbourne +4am
     
    Tuesday, June 30
    UK 7pm / Chicago 1pm / Melbourne +4am
     
    Tuesday, July 7
    Melbourne 10am /Chicago 7pm / UK 1am
     
    Tuesday, July 14
    UK 7pm / Chicago 1pm / Melbourne +4am
     
    Tuesday July 21.
    UK 9am / Melbourne 6pm / Chicago 3am
     
     
    Each date represents an assembly hosted by a CMA Commission member. The approximate duration of each assembly will be 2.5 hours. A weekly schedule is available (see link) for each presentation. Assemblies will replicate an in-person conference including speaker presentations, Pecha Kucha, workshops and posters along with one round table/symposium per session. Assemblies will be thematically organised where possible, but our goal is to accommodate each accepted presenter.
     

    These are open to all by registration. To register, please click on the registration link.

     
    As a collective, the Community Music Activity Commission (CMA) has demonstrated strong leadership in the music education field with its longstanding commitment to the principles of inclusivity, equity, and hospitality, and their application in practice. Our members are critically conscious music facilitators and researchers, frequently working in complex social settings and always at the forefront of discussions around inclusive musical practices and equitable access. We prioritise culturally and psychologically safe music making sites that allow marginalised communities to authentically respond to their artistic, social, political and cultural concerns.

    ​We invite community musicians and their allies to reflect, share and celebrate examples of music making practices that continue the vision of this commission and demonstrate community music’s capacity to respond to the changing dimensions of diversity. CMA presenters are invited to address aspects of music as it touches on a wide range of themes. Themes may include (but are not limited to) musicking as:  disruption, provocation, asylum-refuge, connection, healing and wellness, personal and/or social identity, social justice, innovation, creativity, and more.

    CMA Commission Co-Chairs
    Te Oti Rakena                            New Zealand
    Lee Willingham                          Canada
     
    CMA Commissioners
    Chrissue D’Alexander                US
    Gillian Howell                            Australia
    Pete Moser                                UK
    Kathleen Turner                        Ireland
     
    The original seminar was a collaboration between the ISME Community Music Commission and the Sibelius Academy, Helsinki Music Centre, the Finnish National Opera and Ballet, Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra in association with Sibelius Academy Music Education, Global Music and Arts Management Programmes